Words on this page


‘Diocese’ refers to the geographical territory in which a bishop exercises oversight. The Church in Wales is divided into six dioceses each with its own cathedral in which is housed the cathedra (the bishop’s ‘chair’ or ‘throne’).


Prayer sustains our human relationship with God and may involve words (formal or informal) or be silent. Prayer can involve adoration (‘I love you’), confession (‘sorry’), thanksgiving and supplication (‘please’).

The Diocese of St Davids

Welcome to the Diocese of St Davids, named after Wales’ patron saint whose cathedral in Pembrokeshire is one of the jewels of the nation. The diocese also covers the counties of Ceredigion and Carmarthenshire including the western industrial valleys and the town of Llanelli.

2021: The Year of Prayer

Year of Prayer Logo [Green+Blue]

The next year has been designated by the Church in Wales - and by St Davids Diocese - as the Year of Prayer. Future years will be dedicated to discipleship and pilgrimage. That’s not to say, of course, that we only need to pray for a year! But 2021 will have prayer as its special focus.

Take a look at our Year of Prayer page


New dates for Safeguarding training have been arranged. The training is still on zoom for the time being and is in 2 parts.

Part 1

Monday 8th March 10am

Wednesday 10th March 10am

Thursday 11th March 2pm

Monday 15th March 2pm

Wednesday 17th March

Part 2

Friday 19th March 2pm

Monday 22nd March 2pm

Wednesday 24th March 10am

Monday 29th March 2pm

Wednesday 31st March 10am

To book any of these dates email safeguardingtraining@stpadarns.ac.uk

BEYOND HOPE: Tackling the lockdown legacy

Allchurches Trust has launched a grants programme – Hope Beyond - aimed at enabling churches and Christian charities to meet changing needs within their communities as the longer term impact of Covid-19 becomes clearer. 

All Churches Trust

Up to £50,000 is available for projects that will enable people, organisations and communities to flourish in life after lockdown,

The Hope Beyond grants programme will look to address three themes:

Projects responding to the issues of loneliness and isolation exacerbated by the Coronavirus pandemic where new and/or enhanced support is being proposed.

Projects focused on growing community resilience and promoting mental and emotional health and wellbeing

Projects focused on growing technological capability and resilience and supporting those without online access to get online through training and support.

To find out more information about the programme, read the research report and apply online, head to www.allchurches.co.uk/hopebeyond