Words on this page


‘Bishop’ comes from the Greek word for ‘overseer’. So a bishop is a senior Christian minister authorised to have oversight for God’s people. As well as duties given to deacons and priests, bishops confirm and ordain.


‘Diocese’ refers to the geographical territory in which a bishop exercises oversight. The Church in Wales is divided into six dioceses each with its own cathedral in which is housed the cathedra (the bishop’s ‘chair’ or ‘throne’).


‘Episcopal’ refers to the role or ministry of a bishop. So an episcopal church is one in which oversight is entrusted to a bishop. Like many others, the Church in Wales is an episcopal church.

Home For clergy and members Elections


Election Results

The following election results were announced at the Diocesan Conference on October 7th

Governing Body - Revd Steven Brett

Representative Body - Ven Paul Mackness

Bishop's Crest.jpg

Episcopal Election

Vacancy in See

There is to be an election for a new Bishop of St Davids, following the early retirement of the Rt Revd Joanna Penberthy on health grounds.

The Electoral College will meet in St Davids Cathedral from the 16-18th October. There will be a process of discernment followed by a series of votes until one candidate receives the support two-thirds of the College.

If no-one achieves this within the three allotted days, the decision will revert to the Bench of Bishops

The Electoral college is made up of representatives from across the Province. And because it is our Bishop that is to be elected, St Davids Diocese will have 12 electors - six clergy and six lay.

The other five dioceses send six each and the College is made complete by the other diocesan bishops - currently five in all including the Archbishop - making a total of 46 people.

A diocesan profile has been produced that includes feedback from an Extraordinary Diocesan Conference, held in July, at which members assessed the things they wish to see in the new Bishop.

Download it here

The electors representing St Davids Diocese are:


Ven Dorrien Davies

Ven Paul Mackness

Revd Canon Dr Matthew Hill

Revd Canon Chancellor Dewi Roberts

Revd Peter Jones

Revd Jordan Spencer


Arwel Davies

Tim Llewellyn

Prof. Medwin Hughes

Gina Jones

Celine Cuddihy

Hazel Evans

Members of the Diocese who might have ideas as to who might be potential candidates for our next Bishop should feel free to approach any of the electors. Please note though that only an Elector can actually nominate a candidate in the Electoral College.